Mississippi SBDC Blog http://www.mssbdc.org/ Blog posts for Mississippi SBDC en-gb msbdc@olemiss.edu Copyright 2014 Client Evaluations July 2014 http://www.mssbdc.org/blog/2014/07/client-evaluations-july-2014 Our clients want you to know...
*Client comments appear unedited from their own hand-written evaluations.]]>
Fri, 25 Jul 2014 21:27:00 -0700 http://www.mssbdc.org/blog/2014/07/client-evaluations-july-2014 Success Stories
The Learning Express http://www.mssbdc.org/blog/2013/11/the-learning-express Learning Express Toys, located in Ridgeland, MS, has a great selection and dozens of categories to choose from, including educational and skill building toys and games. James Bennett, Counselor at the HCC MSBDC assisted Sarah Collado with not only her initial purchase of the business but also worked on ways to improve business performance. Below Ms. Collado shares a few words about here experience with the MSBDC.]]> Wed, 20 Nov 2013 21:41:00 -0700 http://www.mssbdc.org/blog/2013/11/the-learning-express Success Stories Union Oilfield Supply, Inc. http://www.mssbdc.org/blog/2013/10/union-oilfield-supply-inc For nearly four decades, Union Oilfield Supply has been run by the Tew family. Founded in the 80's by Dwight Tew, the company is now run by his son, Scott. After many successful years in business, Scott decided it was time to expand his family's business. Financers pointed Scott in the direction of business counselor Gary Suddith and the Mississippi Small Business Development Center at Jones County Junior College (JCJC MSBDC).]]> Fri, 25 Oct 2013 21:43:00 -0700 http://www.mssbdc.org/blog/2013/10/union-oilfield-supply-inc Success Stories Outfitting The Obsession http://www.mssbdc.org/blog/2013/10/outfitting-the-obsession Julia Duvall spent more than 10 years as a hard-working mom, running a household and organizing the lives and activities of those she loves the most. When she decided to open her own business, she knew she wanted to do something that she and her husband, Nathan, could do as a team. ]]> Fri, 25 Oct 2013 21:40:00 -0700 http://www.mssbdc.org/blog/2013/10/outfitting-the-obsession Success Stories Evolution Fitness http://www.mssbdc.org/blog/2013/10/evolution-fitness Our story begins with a germ of an idea and a desire. We knew we wanted to start a gym but we weren't so confident on where to start. Ironically while reading the newspaper, I came across a class offered by Mr. Charles Killebrew at the MSBDC on starting a business and another on writing business plans. We enrolled in the classes just seeking some sort of direction but we got much more than that. Mr. Killebrew made starting a business so much easier than we anticipated.]]> Fri, 25 Oct 2013 21:38:00 -0700 http://www.mssbdc.org/blog/2013/10/evolution-fitness Success Stories The Shop Around the Corner http://www.mssbdc.org/blog/2013/10/the-shop-around-the-corner Fri, 25 Oct 2013 15:54:00 -0700 http://www.mssbdc.org/blog/2013/10/the-shop-around-the-corner Success Stories Ann's Organic Market http://www.mssbdc.org/blog/2013/10/anns-organic-market Fri, 25 Oct 2013 15:49:00 -0700 http://www.mssbdc.org/blog/2013/10/anns-organic-market Success Stories State Farm Bank http://www.mssbdc.org/blog/2013/10/state-farm-bank When I decided to open my business, I had limited knowledge about running a small business.  Ronnie Westbrook sat down with me and went through my market analysis, projected cash flow, and seed capital needs.   We also discussed potential road blocks in getting the business up and running along with financing options.  Ronnie helped identify sources for financing and provided valuable resources for additional financing opportunities.  Ronnie's industry kowledge and expertise was greatly appreciated and has helped contribute to the success of my business.]]> Fri, 18 Oct 2013 19:47:00 -0700 http://www.mssbdc.org/blog/2013/10/state-farm-bank Success Stories